NB48/EB48 2.0 Wiggins Pistons

I’m personally a fan of Jared Wiggins and his Tekno setups. Not a fan of just throwing a setup on a car; hoping it will work. I always recommend folks start with kit setup and go from there.

That being said; when I ran the NB48.4, I did try the Wiggin’s base setup and it worked very well for me. In his setup, he had also posted how he developed his own custom drilled pistons which many of us ran on that car and they were very good.

So when I read (on Facebook in May 25th  2020) that Jared had developed a new piston for the 2.0, I had to give them a try.

The idea behind this post is I feel information gets a little lost in Facebook and maybe this will help folks as a ‘go to’ to find out some of this info quickly (esp if they don’t use FB much).

I’ve been using these in combination with Tekno Bladders + Stock Tekno Emulsion caps(verses emulsion).

Wiggin’s uses the Fast Race Caps (for the HB car) and Fast Race Honeycomb Bladders.

I have a spare set of shocks on hand so I can make quick changes, to compare and contrast.

I’m not personally going to state which is ‘better’; more that this is a tuning option worth trying; switching from/to emulsion, stock pistons or Wiggins etc.

Check out this video on building Bladder-based 1/8th shocks by Tebo.

Blank pistons you can get from Tekno here.  You can also try the Blank Tapered piston (NOTE: Wiggins suggests running 50wt heaver oil with these pistons, so 650 instead of 600).

This is a decent drill bit set, that goes down to 0.8.

I also use this chuck with my Hitachi driver, which helps speed up the build process.

Here is the pic of the piston from Wiggins. The layout is important, per his Facebook post:

Hole Sizes are: 4×1.3mm, 2×1.6mm, 4×0.8mm

WigginsPistoEBNB482.0

This entry was posted in Build Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment